Armacell Wins a 2018 NIA Safety Award

NIA Announces the 2018 Theodore H. Brodie Distinguished Safety Award Winners

Herndon, Virginia—April 9, 2019—The National Insulation Association (NIA) announced the 2018 Theodore H. Brodie Distinguished Safety Award™ winners at its 64th Annual Convention in Nassau, Bahamas, on April 4, 2019.

NIA’s Safety Award is the only national award for outstanding safety performance in the mechanical insulation industry. NIA created the award program more than a decade ago to recognize top companies that have established structured safety programs to ensure the well-being of their employees and create safe working environments.

NIA’s Safety Award program honors 4 levels of excellence: Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze for Associates (Manufacturers), Contractors, Distributors/Fabricators, and Metal Building Laminators.

NIA's Executive Vice President/CEO Michele M. Jones said, “We are pleased to honor our member companies that not only make safety a priority every day, but also seek to make continuous improvements to their safety programs. We are very proud to have 29 Platinum winners and 4 first-time applicants in this year’s competition. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners.”

Throughout the judging process, applicant companies remain anonymous and winners are evaluated on the basis of their overall safety program, means of communication, and safety policy. All applicant companies receive an individualized and detailed Safety Training Analysis Results (STAR) Report™. The STAR Report includes personalized recommendations based on each applicant’s answers to the application questions.

Manufacturer category winners are:


  • Knauf Insulation, Inc., Shelbyville, IN
  • Polyguard Products, Inc., Ennis, TX


  • Midwest Fasteners, Inc., Miamisburg, OH


  • Armacell, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Johns Manville, Denver, CO


  • CertainTeed Corporation, Malvern, PA
  • Dyplast Products, LLC, Miami, FL
  • ITW Insulation Systems, Houston, TX
  • Owens Corning, Toledo, OH
  • Proto Corporation, Clearwater, FL

Beginning this year and going forward, NIA has streamlined the Safety Award judging process to make the customized STAR Reports available to winners in conjunction with the award announcement. Applications for the 2019 Safety Award are now available on NIA’s website and are due on September 3, 2019.

About NIA

NIA is a not-for-profit trade association representing both merit (open shop) and union contractors, distributors, laminators, fabricators, and manufacturers that provide thermal insulation, insulation accessories, and components to the commercial, mechanical, and industrial markets throughout the nation. Since 1953, the northern Virginia-based association has been the voice of the insulation industry and is dedicated to keeping the commercial and industrial insulation industry up to date on the latest industry trends and technologies. For more information, visit

2021 © Armacell LLC • 55 Vilcom Center Drive • Suite 200  • Chapel Hill, NC 27514 • tel 800 866 5638 • email: